Home How to Get a Police Crash Report

What’s in a Nebraska Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report?

  • The names, insurance information, and contact information of everyone involved in the crash Time, date, and location of the crash
  • Names of witnesses
  • Property damage
  • Personal injuries
  • Weather conditions
  • A diagram of the accident
  • Whether or not airbags deployed and if seatbelts were used
  • The reporting officer’s summary of what occurred
  • Traffic infractions (i.e., DUI, speeding, using a cell phone, etc.)

How is a police report created?

  • When someone dials 911
  • When a police officer reports to the scene of an accident
  • When a driver reports the incident

When is a driver required to report an accident?

In the state of Nebraska, drivers are legally required to report an accident that has not been investigated by law enforcement if someone is killed, injured, or property damage exceeds $1,500. All drivers involved must file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report with 10 days of the incident.

Why should I file a police report even when it’s not required by law?

Even if no one appears to be injured at the time of the accident and property damages seem minimal, it’s still a good idea to file a report because injuries can become apparent later and property damage can turn out to be greater than they first appear. You will need a crash report when you report the accident to your insurance company. Also, police departments like to keep track of accidents involving hit-and-run drivers.

How do I file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report?

Fill out the form on the Nebraska Driver Crash Reporting Website, or download the form on the website, fill it out, and mail it to P.O. Box 94759, Lincoln, NE 68509-4759.

When is a driver required to report an accident?

In the state of Nebraska, drivers are legally required to report an accident that has not been investigated by law enforcement if someone is killed, injured, or property damage exceeds $1,500. All drivers involved must file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report with 10 days of the incident.

Who can request to see a police report?

The report is public information, available to anyone who requests it.

How can I get a copy of a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report in the State of Nebraska?

Use the Nebraska Driver Crash Reporting Website, or mail your request to PO Box 94759, Lincoln, NE 68509. All requests must include:

  • The crash date
  • The crash location, including county
  • The driver’s name
  • $13 plus tax for processing (Call 402-479-4645 to find correct tax amount.)

We Will Fight for You if You Have Been Injured in an Automobile Accident

Out team at Bottlinger Law L.L.C. handles car, motorcycle, and truck accident cases on a contingency fee basis, which means you won’t pay us anything unless we get you a settlement. If you or a loved one has been hurt in a crash, call us at (402) 505-8234 to schedule a FREE consultation with an Omaha car accident attorney today.

Bottlinger Law
Consultation Form

Our legal team is ready to help. Please fill out the form below to set up a free consultation with the Bottlinger Law team.

Recent Case Results

$1.8 Million Settlement
Nursing Home Abuse

$1.4 Million Settlement
Agricultural Estate Dispute Between Family Members

$500,000 Settlement
Non-Surgical Soft Tissue Injury, Pedestrian-motor Vehicle Collision

$430,000 Settlement
Rear End Collision, Soft Tissue Injuries (Council Bluffs, Iowa)

see all case results